Orchids & Vanilla…& Spongebob

Ah yes, I did it again.

I changed the theme yet again. Wow I just realized I’ve been blogging at WordPress for nearly 3 years! A milestone from where I used to journal my thoughts over at Blogspot. Congratulations to me for sticking with the same address for the longest time! I’ll be sticking with this white background for a long time as I think it works best especially for pictures. But u never know if the fickle-minded me will change my mind (again). Oh well. That’s that.

Vanda Miss Joaquim of SG

Moving on to the gorgeous, the beautiful…Orchids! Orchids are one of my favorite flowers and I’m kind of, what’s the word, obsessed perhaps, with it? Back when I was in Sec 4 I took Art for my O levels and did a silkscreen project on Orchids as the theme for my coursework (we had to finish a coursework and a during the exam day painting). I even went to the Orchid Garden at Singapore Botanic Gardens with my family to take photos and did research.

Don't know the name of e species..just that it's such a pretty pinkish white color.

Actually (and embarrassingly), I had chosen the theme out of laziness. My Art teacher Ms Oh had been pestering all of us to choose a theme since our Art paper was nearing and because my designs somehow looked like part of a flower, I thought why not choose Orchid as it’s also Singapore’s national flower (also wanted to score points with international markers). However it was the visit to Orchid Garden that made me fell in love with the flower and its many family members.

Dendrobium

There are so many species and color of the Orchid, Subhanallah. Recently, I got to know that Orchids’ freshness last long – around as long as 2 – 3 weeks! While the more exotic Rose only lasts for a few days. But I guess u can’t really compare the 2 as they have their own attractiveness and family species.

Btw, fun fact! Did you know that the sweet scent spice & flavouring Vanilla, (my favourite scent!) came from the Vanilla flower which actually belongs to the family of Orchid! And get this, the name Vanilla came from the Spanish word “vainilla”, diminutive form of “vaina” (meaning “sheath”), which is in turn derived from Latin “vagina”. Who would’ve guessed. (In English Lit however, a flower(s) has been many a time metaphorically referred to as the above mentioned female counterpart so if u think about it, it’s not that surprising.)

Vanilla Orchids

Since I love Orchids so much, I was inspired to make something out of it. So I cut up some felt wool, sew a button and ta-da! Made a brooch with the shape of the Vanda Orchid! Amacam, sama tak? Okay2 it’s not the same of coz but u can see the similarities ;)


Now that I look at it again, it kinda looks like the googly flowers/barnacles from Spongebob Squarepants.

Ah well. By the look on his face, maybe he loved Orchids too.

Leave a Reply

