My solo night at Dairy Farm Bukit Timah

I had the chance to experience being alone in the jungles of Dairy Farm at midnight 2 weeks ago during a sec 3 camp as a trainer/faci. They had a night walk and would be passing by 3 junctions so I was stationed at one of the junction to avoid confusion.

My verdict? Ironically, I actually kinda like it. It wasn’t as scary as I thought it was gonna be at first.

(Yes i know some people more terror than me especially guys who have to go thru this sort of thing during NS but its an achievement for me ok? hooray! :D)

Actually it wasn’t even an option for me pun sebab jadi trainer punye pasal =P the facis partnered up coz they were scared to jaga alone.

Nak cakap takut, tak jugak.. I was kinda looking forward to it because it’s not everyday i get the chance to do this (and no i do not plan to do this on a daily basis). Tapi nak cakap tak takut, nampak sah bedek. Hehe. Lagi2 I couldn’t use my torchlight as it would attract the students’ attention (the objective is to make them walk with as little guidance as possible, with the exception of light sticks being placed at some spots). To make things worse i had just watched Shutter the week before. Ya Allah Ya Tuhanku…i kept scaring myself thinking of the ending part where… (okay shall not say it here coz i will scare myself again -_-). Padehal before that i was telling the girls that ur imagination is the one ur scared of, not the woods. Sooo i had no choice but to heed my own oh-so-wise advise.

Before this the only time I experience a solo night was at Stong 2 years ago but compared to this the distance between me and the next person was quite near and it was only around 30 mins.

This one was nearly 2 hrs. Ambik kau. I even managed to listen to the whole Maher Zain cd, my companion during the whole 2 hrs. Earplug in one ear, while the other ear listening to students who would be passing by the junction that I was stationed at.

Tho at first I was scared, gradually i started being present in the moment and started to enjoy it. In the darkness I thought of life after death seven feet under where we are all going to end up in all alone without anything to save or comfort us (at least i had my music playing hp). I prayed to Allah to let me feel brave and confident and not scared being all alone in the forest at 12 in the morning/night.

Alhamdulillah my doa came true :)

While at first the sounds of the forest would make me paranoid (omg ape tu ape tu?!) *panic*, after a while I listened to the sounds again and remembered a verse in the Qur’an saying “every living thing on Earth has its way of showing their love towards Allah s.w.t” so the sound of the cricket might be their way of saying Subhanallah, the sound of leaves falling might be the leaves’ way of saying Alhamdulillah, the sound of water at a distant river might be the water’s way of saying Allahuakbar and the sound of trees moving might be their way of saying Masyaallah (this was also what I shared during my tazkirah in Ledang last June). When I thought of all that, suddenly i felt Allah’s presence close with me and my fear managed to run away. But not after much effort of focusing on wanting to be brave (images of Shutter kept coming up again without asking – i had to replace that image with the image of seeing a deceased all wrapped up, at Makkah as he or she was being solat upon in front of the Kaabah).

The funny thing is that, some of the students were the ones who got scared upon seeing me! I had positioned myself sitting down cross-legged and was wearing a lime green tudung (good thing i didn’t wear white kalau tak pengsan diorang). One of the girls asked me, “ni orang eh?” tell me what am i supposed to respond? haha.. kalau bukan orang how? gelak seh. then some freaked out when they saw me – oklah i can understand, imagine ur walking alone in midnight & suddenly u see a figure sitting down in a stationary position, first reaction mesti terperanjat beruk but after adjusting ur eyes & looking closely, u realise…yek elleh (or thank god!) its only kak mardhiah. haha! it was really funny seeing their reactions.

Awesome experience :)

Coz Allah is always by your side…Insyaallah.. – Maher Zain

2 responses to “My solo night at Dairy Farm Bukit Timah

  1. Marliyana

    “a verse in the Qur’an saying “every living thing on Earth has its way of showing their love towards Allah s.w.t” so the sound of the cricket might be their way of saying Subhanallah, the sound of leaves falling might be the leaves’ way of saying Alhamdulillah, the sound of water at a distant river might be the water’s way of saying Allahuakbar and the sound of trees moving might be their way of saying Masyaallah”

    That’s a new perspective of looking at it :) I never thought that way about that verse before! Thanks kak!

  2. simplymardy

    aww u welcome hunny! glad it was beneficial to u alhamdulillah :D

Leave a Reply

