Syukur at the Summit.

Reading at my expedition entries make it feel that everything is always fun and happy, but there are those down moments too. Like these;

My Personal Battle – my weight vs. my backpack

The question is not how much can my backpack carry, whether it’s enough for an expedition yada yada… but the question is, can I carry IT and climb UP? This time around, my load was much, much heavier compared to previous expeditions due to the duration and amount of food plus tent equipment.

The answer is yes but with great difficulty. At the start of the climb the students were the ones in front of me and encouraging me instead – it was a terrible climb up for me, I’ve never felt so incompetent in an expedition seeing how I’m always the first lady during the climbs. So much so that during the start climb up, there came a point when I was alone, I couldn’t help but cry. My shoulders were aching, bones felt like breaking and I was struggling with the weight. It was that bad.

But as I’m crying, I felt a rush of gratitude towards Allah. Maybe if not for this I would have been secretly arrogant as I’m always the fast one. Now, being slow I realized that it might have been a good reality check for me. To be weak at something I’m always good at, for once. Humbling experience.

The Natural Toilet

Not being in the comfort of proper sanitation system for many days can be a huge challenge. I never get used to this.

Why in Allah’s world did I get involved in this…again???

There are many reasons why I do.. And there are many other reasons not to go, too.

But there’s always that one thing that always gets me going. Syukur. When I’m out there, surrounded by nature and waterfalls, the feeling of syukur is just indescribable. Of course, I can just go to Macritchie Reservoir or Botanic Gardens and experience nature, but there’s something about being out of your comfort zone, being out of Singapore, that makes me feel this syukur. Feeling the closeness of His presence. Everything is clear. Every sign of Him is obvious. All you have to do is look around yourselves… and say Thank You Allah.

Being syukur and being close to Allah. That’s the best feeling ever.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Look around yourselves
Can’t you see this wonder
Spread infront of you
The clouds floating by
The skies are clear and blue
Planets in the orbits
The moon and the sun
Such perfect harmony

– Maher Zain’s “Open Your Eyes”

Last but not least, spot me in “Where’s Wally? Stong Edition 2010“!

It is not the mountain we conquer, but ourselves ~ Sir Edmund Hilary, first guy who reached peak of Everest

*Photos credit to sis Aisyah and her awesome U-Tough waterproof & shock absorbent camera i like~

Leave a Reply

