Parent’s Blessings

Everyday I feel so fortunate to have parents who used to be youth activists back in their younger days. Even up till they started working, got married and have kids they still tried to squeeze in time to continue contributing to the community.

It helps a lot when I have to go back late for meetings and events, I just have to inform where I am and what time I’ll be reaching home. No scoldings whatsoever. Just “Can u buy for us *insert type of food or drinks here* on your way back?” Of course I try not to go back too late, after all, a lady is still a lady and her akhlak is still of huge importance. Alhamdulillah they don’t just understand because they are masyaAllah, wonderful parents, but they understand because they’ve been there, done that.

Because it breaks my heart everytime I hear friends complain about their parents who are not okay with them being youth activists. When their parents pass snide comments to them about them volunteering, or scold them so bad due to their good intentions of doin dakwah.. Worst is the “Buat ape la kau buang mase nak volunteer buat bende2 ni sume.. Bukan dapat apape pun…” (Translation: “Why would u want to waste your time volunteering and getting involved in these things? It’s not like you get anything in return..”) 

The thought that comes to mind is that, “Makcik, at least your children are not clubbing & drinking away getting hangovers the next morning right?”

But I’m no parent and there’s only so much I can say. I pray that their hearts will soften for their children’s clean intentions insyaAllah.

And for mine to continue blessing me in this life’s journey.

Because dakwah or no dakwah, parents’ blessings are still number one on top of any good deeds we do. :)

7 responses to “Parent’s Blessings

  1. your friend

    Sometime I have to resort to telling partial truths. Using the excuse that I still have works to clear.

    Sometime its strange when telling them that I am OT-ing at the office is OK but I am afraid of telling them that I am taking Arabic classes at AC…

    Sometime its weird when I am fine of telling them that I have a bbq at east coast park but I am afraid of telling them I have a meeting at Saff Perdaus.
    Usually their reply to the latter would be: “Saff Perdaus lagi?….”

    Travelling from Woodlands to EastCoast for a BBQ is “OK”. Travelling from Woodlands to Bugis to attend Sirah class at Al-Fathu is “jauh sangat”

    At home I have to continously do “da’awah” to my own parents…..

  2. ruqayyah

    masyaAllah what a relevant-to-our-lives entry.. may Allah forgive us and our parents; and love them just as how they had loved us when we were little..
    insyaAllah when we become parents ourselves we’ll be of those guided by the AlMighty amin amin ya Rabbal alamin.

    *hugs mardhiah!* :D

    ————–
    akhukum fillah
    wa uhibbukum fillah
    wa uhibbu man yusolli
    ala Rasulillah

  3. Huda Lee

    One entry linked to mine. Hope it benefits everyone in their lives.

    Even though my parents are worried about my coming home late, at least they didn’t stop me from actively participating in activities for a good cause. And I feel that that is a blessing already. So I have no complains ;)

    If not, they wouldn’t have let me go in the first place…

    Until we are parents, maybe in time we can understand our parents inner feelings and worries :)

  4. simplymardy

    your friend: hope your parents will “cool down” insyaAllah.

    Ruqayyah: *hugs back* ;)

    Huda Lee: Oh yes i read ur “Torned between Two” post. similar but different.. Yeah same goes for me. No complains. :) Was just thinking of fellow activists who are facing the other situation.

  5. boo

    i think many of us have been in this position when we first start off with our youth activities, post-hidayah.

    dear “your friend”,

    it will definitely take a lot of time and patience. sometimes, it’s important for us to share with them whatever events we’re doing. the details of it. for who-and-who, doing so-and-so. it helps sometimes.

    my ordeal definitely took a lot of patience. and alot of sharing. and alot of being labelled too. haha!

    once they see how sincere you are, their hearts will open up, insha’Allah.

    da’wah bil hikmah, wa tawaasau bilhaqq wa tawaasau bis sabr.

  6. heyhaidar

    yeah my parents used to question me quite a lot about my whereabouts, especially i’m active with volunteering work with the field that i’m in.

    however they began to lax down after seeing my achievements although I still have a curfew to follow at times.

    i must say that i’m pretty fortunate not to be influenced or succumbed to clubbing and drinking although i’m not much of a da’wah.

    but i really respect you girls who embrace it and am proud of it. =)

  7. simplymardy

    aww hey haidar ure back! the path is never easy and sometimes giving up feels like just an inch away but there are many who have gone through worse times. thanks for sharing babe. =D

Leave a Reply

