Star-ring: Maroon & Gold

24-04-08

Maroon swirl top – sewn by me (if u notice, it’s actually a baju kurung pesak – i did it last year, but somehow *never* got around to sew the kain – haa! – excitement & mood gone already)
White shoes with gold stripes – Surfer’s Paradise
Maroon scarf with black stripes – First Lady
Gold star brooch – originally a necklace but i changed it to a brooch

Although what we wear is mainly on the outside, have u ever wondered “Why do we wear what we wear?” – by Tricia Royal/bitsandbobbins. Very interesting. Check out comments from people all over.

For me, coz I especially love colors and playing around with different textures of fabric and colors. I used to mirror other people’s style a lot back then but now I’m comfortable with my own sense of dressing.

Oh, and I know this sounds shallow but it’s one of the things I look forward to when I wake up in the morning.:D

7 responses to “Star-ring: Maroon & Gold

  1. Huda Lee

    Cool!

    My mum wants to ask you about the paper patterns in spotlight. She knows how to sew. The thing is, when she use the paper patterns in spotlight, the clothing doesn’t turn out right. How do you actually modify the paper patterns to your own size?

    Haha…i know its hard to explain here. Lol!

  2. MashaAllah, sister…u did that yourself?! Wow. I’d really wanted to learn sewing mebbe one day you could teach me. Btw, I was surfing and caught up with ur site…i really really liked it. nice work!

  3. simplymardy

    Thanks Huda! Tell ur mum that, actually, I haven’t completed the outfit that I bought from the paper pattern coz I find it a bit too troublesome. Or maybe I’m just too impatient! Hahaha. I don’t think this answer helps at all. Heh. I learnt sewing from my aunt, who is very systematic and my mum, who is the “u no need to follow la the patterns.. can just estimate a rough sketch of what u want and then do it.” I guess I’m a bit of both. :)

  4. simplymardy

    Hi Light! Hey thanks so very much! I started sewing my own tops coz I didn’t want to look like everyone else. Hehehe. Except the thing is, it takes time to sew and I’ve been a bit busy these past few weeks. But they’re all very simple ones tho, so insyaAllah can teach u one day. ;)

  5. ah mardhiah, ive been wanting to learn how to sew and knit and crochet. hee. but im low on cash now so yea. do you own a sewing machine? im trying to scout around the prices and the different types of machines available in the market. theres the modern and traditional one right? any recommendations/preferences?

  6. simplymardy

    hmm. according to my mum, the brand Brother is good. She’s been using the brand’s sewing machine for quite some time already, she bought it from her friend at ard $300+. that one is pretty modern & has diff kinds of stitches. my grandma has the traditional one, the one made of stainless steel. that one is pretty hard to find nowadays. actually i think the trad one is better – it’s more smooth, but the modern one has more variations, nice when u want to experiment with a lot of sewing projects. hope that helps! :)

  7. nashaislem

    i’m in a more dressing-up kinda mood especially on ‘sian’ days. hee. perks me up a lil :)

Leave a Reply

